Success Story: Sam Kaking

My name is Sam Kaking. I’m originally from the Democratic Republic of Congo.

I’m grateful to Portland Adult Education for contributing to the success of my career.

Before coming to the U.S., I studied and worked as an Electro Mechanical Engineer. When I arrived in Maine, I was feeling discouraged because I knew it was not going to be easy for me to return to my career. I had a foreign degree, and even though I had years of experience, without the help of PAE, finding work was not going to be easy.

In June 2016, I registered at PAE to improve my English fluency and vocabulary skills. Earlier this year, I enrolled in the New Mainers Resource CenterJob Class Program. This program not only helped me to gain more confidence in job interviews, but it also gave me a better understanding of how to market myself more effectively to employers. These are things I wasn’t quite sure about before.

I knew little about the American culture, such as body language and other gestures.

Pursuing my career, which seemed very challenging at the beginning, is now much easier. Right now I am pleased to say I am hired since last July by ON Semiconductor, formerly known as Fairchild Semiconductor as a full time Maintenance Technician. I really enjoy my job now and my new company!

Thank you to the Portland Adult Education team, instructors, administrators, and partners for your support!

Leave a Reply

